Lost, suspected stolen, then FOUND!

Last year, in April 2014, I lost my wedding ring of six years. It is titanium, worth about $1.5k, and has much sentimental value. It went missing over a year ago, driving me crazy (literally) looking for it, missing it, wondering where the eff it could be. I had, around the same time of week, solicited Walmart’s auto zone for a wheel change. When I got my car back, my window was busted as though someone tried to break in. The next morning, I couldn’t find my ring. I looked all over the house, in pockets, in bowls, drawers, corners, etc. I gave up after a few months.
Today, July 2015 (coincidentally a friend’s birthday), however, I was working on my busted dryer to get it to heat up while it’s operating so I made sure the vent was clear and the vent hose was securely and properly attached and positioned. Then, I moved to the front panel of the dryer that pops open by my feet. I was cleaning out years of lint by the handful that was strewn all over the working components of the dryer. Then I spotted something silvery and shiny. I thought, “This could be it. This could be my ring.” I was very skeptical as I reached my hand to grab the gleam in the pile of lint inside the dryer. Once in my hands, I knew it was my ring and a suffocating weight was cast out of my body. I examined the inside engraving for “Tiffany & Co.” and, sure enough, it was there!
I feel sooooo happy and elated. I can’t wait to tell my wife. It has been 15 months since I last saw this material possession of great emotional magnitude.
If I had been lazy or unmotivated to fix the dryer, I would haven’t found it. My luck never lets me down.
This is the same ring that I found in the woods after a camping trip. My ring fell off my finger in the dark while I was drunk one night when camping in the Blue Ridge Mountains of Asheville, NC with some friends and acquaintances. A few days later after the trip was over, my wife and I went back to look for it using a metal detector. The detector didn’t find anything and I had just given up and defeatedly plopped down next to a log. Well, believe it or not, that log had a hole in it where a chestnut had fallen. Underneath the chestnut was my ring. I found my ring in the woods after having lost it three days prior. Now, I find my ring after 15 months. I won’t take it off again.

Leave a Reply

